Downloads

Overview of all Swiss glaciers:

List of all glaciers

Current list of glaciers with measurements (name, ID, coordinates, area, available data) : DOWNLOAD

Glacier Inventory 2010

The Swiss Glacier Inventory 2010 provides areas and outlines of all glaciers in Switzerland referring to the years 2008-2011. The data are based on aerial imagery and are delivered as a shapefile : DOWNLOAD

When using these data, please cite as:
Fischer, M., Huss, M., Barboux, C. & Hoelzle, M. 2014, The new Swiss Glacier Inventory SGI2010: relevance of using high-resolution source data in areas dominated by very small glaciers. Arctic, Antarctic, and Alpine Research, 46, 933–945.

Glacier Inventory 1973

The Swiss Glacier Inventory 1973 provides areas and outlines of all glaciers in Switzerland referring to the year 1973. The data are based on aerial imagery and are delivered as a shapefile : DOWNLOAD

When using these data, please cite as:
Müller, F., Caflisch, T. & Müller, G. 1976, Firn und Eis der Schweizer Alpen (Gletscherinventar). Publ. Nr. 57/57a. Geographisches Institut, ETH Zürich, 2 Vols. & Maisch, M., Wipf, A., Denneler, B., Battaglia, J. & Benz, C. 2000, Die Gletscher der Schweizer Alpen: Gletscherhochstand 1850, Aktuelle Vergletscherung, Gletscherschwund-Szenarien. (Schlussbericht NFP 31). 2. Auflage. vdf Hochschulverlag an der ETH Zürich, 373 pp. & Paul, F. 2004, The new Swiss glacier inventory 2000 – application of remote sensing and GIS. PhD Thesis, Department of Geography, University of Zurich, Schriftenreihe Physische Geographie, 52, 210 pp.

Glacier Inventory 1850

The Swiss Glacier Inventory 1850 provides areas and outlines of all glaciers in Switzerland referring to the year 1850. The data are based on historical maps and geomorphological evidence and are delivered as a shapefile : DOWNLOAD

When using these data, please cite as:
Maisch, M., Wipf, A., Denneler, B., Battaglia, J. & Benz, C. 2000, Die Gletscher der Schweizer Alpen: Gletscherhochstand 1850, Aktuelle Vergletscherung, Gletscherschwund-Szenarien. (Schlussbericht NFP 31). 2. Auflage. vdf Hochschulverlag an der ETH Zürich, 373 pp. & Paul, F. 2004, The new Swiss glacier inventory 2000 – application of remote sensing and GIS. PhD Thesis, Department of Geography, University of Zurich, Schriftenreihe Physische Geographie, 52, 210 pp.

Glacier length changes are measured annually at the tongues of all larger and on many of the smaller Swiss glaciers and provide an overview of their long-term variations. The dataset contains all available observations up to present and is delivered as a .csv file.

Glacier length changes

Observed length changes of glaciers : DOWNLOAD

When using these data, please cite as:
GLAMOS (2018). Swiss Glacier Length Change, release 2018, Glacier Monitoring Switzerland, doi:10.18750/lengthchange.2018.r2018.

Direct measurements of glacier mass balance – the sum of snow accumulation and snow/ice melt – are carried out on selected glaciers in Switzerland. Based on point observations, typically acquired in April/May and September, glacier-wide quantities of seasonal mass balance (winter/summer/annual) are evaluated, expressed as a an area-averaged value of water equivalent (w.e.). The dataset contains all available observations up to present and is delivered as four separate .csv files with results both for the exact measurement periods (observation, varying between the years) and the hydrological year (fix-date), as well as for glacier-wide quantities and for individual elevation bins.

Glacier mass balances (observation period)

Glaciological mass balances over the effective observation period : DOWNLOAD entire glacier / DOWNLOAD elevation bins

Glacier mass balances (hydrological year)

Glaciological mass balances over the hydrological year (1 October to 30 September) : DOWNLOAD entire glacier / DOWNLOAD elevation bins

When using these data, please cite as:
GLAMOS (2018). Swiss Glacier Mass Balance, release 2018, Glacier Monitoring Switzerland, doi:10.18750/massbalance.2018.r2018.

The comparison of digital elevation models derived from aerial remote sensing allows the computation of glacier ice volume changes over periods of years to decades. Ice volume changes have been converted to geodetic mass balances assuming a density of volume change of 850 kg/m³. The dataset contains all available observations for the most important Swiss glaciers up to present and is delivered as a .csv file.

Glacier volume changes

Volume changes, mean thickness changes, annual geodetic mass balances : DOWNLOAD

When using these data, please cite as:
GLAMOS (2018). Swiss Glacier Volume Change, release 2018, Glacier Monitoring Switzerland, doi:10.18750/volumechange.2018.r2018.

Downloads

Inventaire de tous les glaciers suisses:

Liste de tous les glaciers

Liste actuelle de tous les glaciers mesurés (nom, ID, coordonnées, superficie, données disponibles) : DOWNLOAD

Inventaire des glaciers 2010

L’inventaire des glaciers suisses 2010 contient les surfaces et les limites de tous les glaciers de la Suisse, tels qu’en 2008-2011. Les données sont basées sur des photographies aériennes et sont disponibles en tant que shapefile : DOWNLOAD

Veuillez citer les données comme suit:
Fischer, M., Huss, M., Barboux, C. & Hoelzle, M. 2014, The new Swiss Glacier Inventory SGI2010: relevance of using high-resolution source data in areas dominated by very small glaciers. Arctic, Antarctic, and Alpine Research, 46, 933–945.

Inventaire des glaciers 1973

L’inventaire des glaciers suisses 1973 contient les surfaces et les limites de tous les glaciers de la Suisse, tels qu’en 1973. Les données sont basées sur des photographies aériennes et sont disponibles en tant que shapefile : DOWNLOAD

Veuillez citer les données comme suit:
Müller, F., Caflisch, T. & Müller, G. 1976, Firn und Eis der Schweizer Alpen (Gletscherinventar). Publ. Nr. 57/57a. Geographisches Institut, ETH Zürich, 2 Vols. & Maisch, M., Wipf, A., Denneler, B., Battaglia, J. & Benz, C. 2000, Die Gletscher der Schweizer Alpen: Gletscherhochstand 1850, Aktuelle Vergletscherung, Gletscherschwund-Szenarien. (Schlussbericht NFP 31). 2. Auflage. vdf Hochschulverlag an der ETH Zürich, 373 pp. & Paul, F. 2004, The new Swiss glacier inventory 2000 – application of remote sensing and GIS. PhD Thesis, Department of Geography, University of Zurich, Schriftenreihe Physische Geographie, 52, 210 pp.

Inventaire des glaciers 1850

L’inventaire des glaciers suisses 1850 contient les surfaces et les limites de tous les glaciers de la Suisse, tels qu’en 1850. Les données sont basées sur des cartes historiques ainsi que des évidences géomorphologiques et sont disponibles en tant que shapefile : DOWNLOAD

Veuillez citer les données comme suit:
Maisch, M., Wipf, A., Denneler, B., Battaglia, J. & Benz, C. 2000, Die Gletscher der Schweizer Alpen: Gletscherhochstand 1850, Aktuelle Vergletscherung, Gletscherschwund-Szenarien. (Schlussbericht NFP 31). 2. Auflage. vdf Hochschulverlag an der ETH Zürich, 373 pp. & Paul, F. 2004, The new Swiss glacier inventory 2000 – application of remote sensing and GIS. PhD Thesis, Department of Geography, University of Zurich, Schriftenreihe Physische Geographie, 52, 210 pp.

Les variations de la longueur des glaciers sont mesurées chaque année aux fronts de tous les plus grands glaciers de suisse ainsi qu’aux fronts de nombreux plus petits glaciers. Ces mesures donnent un aperçu de leurs changements à long terme. L'ensemble des données contient toutes les observations disponibles jusqu'à présent et est fourni sous forme de fichier .csv.

Variations de la longueur des glaciers

Variations mesurées de la longueur des glaciers : DOWNLOAD

Veuillez citer les données comme suit:
GLAMOS (2018). Swiss Glacier Length Change, release 2018, Glacier Monitoring Switzerland, doi:10.18750/lengthchange.2018.r2018.

Des mesures directes du bilan de masse - la somme de l’accumulation de neige et de la fonte de neige/glace - sont effectuées sur une sélection de glaciers en Suisse. Sur la base d'observations ponctuelles, typiquement acquises en avril/mai et en septembre, les quantités de bilan de masse saisonnier (hiver/été) et annuel pour l'ensemble du glacier sont évaluées et exprimées en équivalent en eau (w.e.) moyen pour toute la superficie du glacier. Le jeu de données contient toutes les observations disponibles jusqu’à présent et est fourni sous forme de quatre fichiers .csv séparés. Les fichiers contiennent les relevés de la période de mesure exacte (qui varie d’année en année) et de la période hydrologique (date fixe), ainsi que pour l’entier du glacier et pour des bandes d’altitude individuelles.

Bilan de masse des glaciers (période d'observation)

Bilan de masse glaciologique au cours des périodes d'observations effectives : DOWNLOAD entire glacier / DOWNLOAD elevation bins

Bilan de masse des glaciers (année hydrologique)

Bilan de masse des glaciers au cours d'une année hydrologique (du 1er octobre au 30 septembre) : DOWNLOAD entire glacier / DOWNLOAD elevation bins

Veuillez citer les données comme suit:
GLAMOS (2018). Swiss Glacier Mass Balance, release 2018, Glacier Monitoring Switzerland, doi:10.18750/massbalance.2018.r2018.

La comparaison de modèles numériques de terrain dérivés de la télédétection aérienne permet le calcul des variations du volume des glaciers sur des périodes de plusieurs années à plusieurs décennies. Les changements de volume de glace ont été convertis en bilan de masse géodésique assumant une densité volumique de 850 kg / m³. L'ensemble des données contient toutes les observations disponibles pour les plus importants glaciers suisses jusqu'à présent et est fourni sous forme de fichier .csv.

Variations du volume des glaciers

Variations du volume, de l'épaisseur moyenne et du bilan de masse annuel géodésique : DOWNLOAD

Veuillez citer les données comme suit:
GLAMOS (2018). Swiss Glacier Volume Change, release 2018, Glacier Monitoring Switzerland, doi:10.18750/volumechange.2018.r2018.