Downloads

Overview of all Swiss glaciers:

List of all glaciers

Current list of glaciers with measurements (name, ID, coordinates, area, available data) : DOWNLOAD

Glacier Inventory 2010

The Swiss Glacier Inventory 2010 provides areas and outlines of all glaciers in Switzerland referring to the years 2008-2011. The data are based on aerial imagery and are delivered as a shapefile : DOWNLOAD

When using these data, please cite as:
Fischer, M., Huss, M., Barboux, C. & Hoelzle, M. 2014, The new Swiss Glacier Inventory SGI2010: relevance of using high-resolution source data in areas dominated by very small glaciers. Arctic, Antarctic, and Alpine Research, 46, 933–945.

Glacier Inventory 1973

The Swiss Glacier Inventory 1973 provides areas and outlines of all glaciers in Switzerland referring to the year 1973. The data are based on aerial imagery and are delivered as a shapefile : DOWNLOAD

When using these data, please cite as:
Müller, F., Caflisch, T. & Müller, G. 1976, Firn und Eis der Schweizer Alpen (Gletscherinventar). Publ. Nr. 57/57a. Geographisches Institut, ETH Zürich, 2 Vols. & Maisch, M., Wipf, A., Denneler, B., Battaglia, J. & Benz, C. 2000, Die Gletscher der Schweizer Alpen: Gletscherhochstand 1850, Aktuelle Vergletscherung, Gletscherschwund-Szenarien. (Schlussbericht NFP 31). 2. Auflage. vdf Hochschulverlag an der ETH Zürich, 373 pp. & Paul, F. 2004, The new Swiss glacier inventory 2000 – application of remote sensing and GIS. PhD Thesis, Department of Geography, University of Zurich, Schriftenreihe Physische Geographie, 52, 210 pp.

Glacier Inventory 1850

The Swiss Glacier Inventory 1850 provides areas and outlines of all glaciers in Switzerland referring to the year 1850. The data are based on historical maps and geomorphological evidence and are delivered as a shapefile : DOWNLOAD

When using these data, please cite as:
Maisch, M., Wipf, A., Denneler, B., Battaglia, J. & Benz, C. 2000, Die Gletscher der Schweizer Alpen: Gletscherhochstand 1850, Aktuelle Vergletscherung, Gletscherschwund-Szenarien. (Schlussbericht NFP 31). 2. Auflage. vdf Hochschulverlag an der ETH Zürich, 373 pp. & Paul, F. 2004, The new Swiss glacier inventory 2000 – application of remote sensing and GIS. PhD Thesis, Department of Geography, University of Zurich, Schriftenreihe Physische Geographie, 52, 210 pp.

Glacier length changes are measured annually at the tongues of all larger and on many of the smaller Swiss glaciers and provide an overview of their long-term variations. The dataset contains all available observations up to present and is delivered as a .csv file.

Glacier length changes

Observed length changes of glaciers : DOWNLOAD

When using these data, please cite as:
GLAMOS (2018). Swiss Glacier Length Change, release 2018, Glacier Monitoring Switzerland, doi:10.18750/lengthchange.2018.r2018.

Direct measurements of glacier mass balance – the sum of snow accumulation and snow/ice melt – are carried out on selected glaciers in Switzerland. Based on point observations, typically acquired in April/May and September, glacier-wide quantities of seasonal mass balance (winter/summer/annual) are evaluated, expressed as a an area-averaged value of water equivalent (w.e.). The dataset contains all available observations up to present and is delivered as four separate .csv files with results both for the exact measurement periods (observation, varying between the years) and the hydrological year (fix-date), as well as for glacier-wide quantities and for individual elevation bins.

Glacier mass balances (observation period)

Glaciological mass balances over the effective observation period : DOWNLOAD entire glacier / DOWNLOAD elevation bins

Glacier mass balances (hydrological year)

Glaciological mass balances over the hydrological year (1 October to 30 September) : DOWNLOAD entire glacier / DOWNLOAD elevation bins

When using these data, please cite as:
GLAMOS (2018). Swiss Glacier Mass Balance, release 2018, Glacier Monitoring Switzerland, doi:10.18750/massbalance.2018.r2018.

The comparison of digital elevation models derived from aerial remote sensing allows the computation of glacier ice volume changes over periods of years to decades. Ice volume changes have been converted to geodetic mass balances assuming a density of volume change of 850 kg/m³. The dataset contains all available observations for the most important Swiss glaciers up to present and is delivered as a .csv file.

Glacier volume changes

Volume changes, mean thickness changes, annual geodetic mass balances : DOWNLOAD

When using these data, please cite as:
GLAMOS (2018). Swiss Glacier Volume Change, release 2018, Glacier Monitoring Switzerland, doi:10.18750/volumechange.2018.r2018.

Downloads

Übersicht über alle Schweizer Gletscher:

Liste aller Gletscher

Aktuelle Liste der Gletscher mit Messdaten (Name, ID, Koordinaten, Fläche, verfügbare Daten) : DOWNLOAD

Gletscherinventar 2010

Das Schweizer Gletscherinventar 2010 enthält Flächen und Umrisse aller Gletscher in der Schweiz, bezogen auf die Jahre 2008–2011. Die Daten basieren auf Luftbildern und werden als Shapefile geliefert : DOWNLOAD

Daten bitte folgendermassen zitieren:
Fischer, M., Huss, M., Barboux, C. & Hoelzle, M. 2014, The new Swiss Glacier Inventory SGI2010: relevance of using high-resolution source data in areas dominated by very small glaciers. Arctic, Antarctic, and Alpine Research, 46, 933–945.

Gletscherinventar 1973

Das Schweizer Gletscherinventar 1973 enthält Flächen und Umrisse aller Gletscher in der Schweiz, bezogen auf das Jahr 1973. Die Daten basieren auf Luftbildern und werden als Shapefile geliefert : DOWNLOAD

Daten bitte folgendermassen zitieren:
Müller, F., Caflisch, T. & Müller, G. 1976, Firn und Eis der Schweizer Alpen (Gletscherinventar). Publ. Nr. 57/57a. Geographisches Institut, ETH Zürich, 2 Vols. & Maisch, M., Wipf, A., Denneler, B., Battaglia, J. & Benz, C. 2000, Die Gletscher der Schweizer Alpen: Gletscherhochstand 1850, Aktuelle Vergletscherung, Gletscherschwund-Szenarien. (Schlussbericht NFP 31). 2. Auflage. vdf Hochschulverlag an der ETH Zürich, 373 pp. & Paul, F. 2004, The new Swiss glacier inventory 2000 – application of remote sensing and GIS. PhD Thesis, Department of Geography, University of Zurich, Schriftenreihe Physische Geographie, 52, 210 pp.

Gletscherinventar 1850

Das Schweizer Gletscherinventar 1850 enthält Flächen und Umrisse aller Gletscher in der Schweiz, bezogen auf das Jahr 1850. Die Daten basieren auf historischen Karten und geomorphologischen Aufnahmen und werden als Shapefile geliefert : DOWNLOAD

Daten bitte folgendermassen zitieren:
Maisch, M., Wipf, A., Denneler, B., Battaglia, J. & Benz, C. 2000, Die Gletscher der Schweizer Alpen: Gletscherhochstand 1850, Aktuelle Vergletscherung, Gletscherschwund-Szenarien. (Schlussbericht NFP 31). 2. Auflage. vdf Hochschulverlag an der ETH Zürich, 373 pp. & Paul, F. 2004, The new Swiss glacier inventory 2000 – application of remote sensing and GIS. PhD Thesis, Department of Geography, University of Zurich, Schriftenreihe Physische Geographie, 52, 210 pp.

Gletscherlängenänderungen werden jährlich an den Zungen aller grösseren und an vielen kleineren Schweizer Gletschern gemessen und geben einen Überblick über ihre langfristigen Veränderungen. Der Datensatz enthält alle verfügbaren Beobachtungen und wird als CSV-Datei geliefert.

Gletscherlängenänderungen

Beobachtete Längenänderungen der Gletscher : DOWNLOAD

Daten bitte folgendermassen zitieren:
GLAMOS (2018). Swiss Glacier Length Change, release 2018, Glacier Monitoring Switzerland, doi:10.18750/lengthchange.2018.r2018.

Direkte Messungen der Gletschermassenbilanz – der Summe von Schneeakkumulation und Schnee-/Eisschmelze – werden an ausgewählten Gletschern in der Schweiz durchgeführt. Basierend auf Punktmessungen, die typischerweise im April/Mai und September durchgeführt werden, wird die saisonale Massenbilanz (Winter/Sommer/jährlich) über die gesamte Fläche des Gletschers bestimmt, ausgedrückt als flächengemittelter Wert in Wasseräquivalent (w.e.). Der Datensatz enthält alle bisher verfügbaren Beobachtungen und wird als vier separate CSV-Dateien mit Ergebnissen für die genauen Messperioden (Beobachtungperiode, variiert zwischen den Jahren) und für das hydrologische Jahr (fixes Datum) geliefert, sowohl für den gesamten Gletscher als auch für die einzelnen Höhenbänder.

Gletschermassenbilanzen (Beobachtungsperiode)

Glaziologische Massenbilanzen über die effektive Beobachtungsperiode : DOWNLOAD entire glacier / DOWNLOAD elevation bins

Gletschermassenbilanzen (hydrologisches Jahr)

Glaziologische Massenbilanzen über das hydrologische Jahr (1. Oktober bis 30. September) : DOWNLOAD entire glacier / DOWNLOAD elevation bins

Daten bitte folgendermassen zitieren:
GLAMOS (2018). Swiss Glacier Mass Balance, release 2018, Glacier Monitoring Switzerland, doi:10.18750/massbalance.2018.r2018.

Der Vergleich von digitalen Höhenmodellen basierend auf Luftbildern ermöglicht die Berechnung von Volumenänderungen der Gletscher über Jahre bis Jahrzehnte. Änderungen des Gletschervolumens wurden in geodätische Massenbilanzen umgerechnet unter der Annahme einer Dichte von 850 kg/m³. Der Datensatz enthält alle verfügbaren Beobachtungen bis heute für die wichtigsten Schweizer Gletscher und wird als CSV-Datei geliefert.

Gletschervolumenänderungen

Volumenänderungen, mittlere Dickenänderungen, jährliche geodätische Massenbilanzen : DOWNLOAD

Daten bitte folgendermassen zitieren:
GLAMOS (2018). Swiss Glacier Volume Change, release 2018, Glacier Monitoring Switzerland, doi:10.18750/volumechange.2018.r2018.